Munar despairs with the chair umpire, while his rival celebrates the triumph… CR7 style!
It was a day to forget for Jaume Munar in Indian Wells at ‘arbitral’ level as Yibing Wu won the third set tiebreak with a racket hitting the net after hitting the ball.
Despite his protests in front of the chair umpire, the Balearic tennis player’s efforts failed to change her decision, even though the point wasn’t scored legally. According to him, Wu’s racket touched the net after the ball had already been ‘dead’ whereas Munar considered it still in play when it touched the net.
After exchanging opinions, Wu chose to congratulate his rival and celebrate the victory in the center of the court with a classic Cristiano Ronaldo gesture.
Clearly furious, the Spaniard wasn’t impressed.